Skip to content
Chimehill home
Hand-drawn illustration of desk phones, headsets, calendars, laptops, clipboards and a corkboard around the title 9 best practice management software for allied health in 2026
Practice software

9 Best Practice Management Software for Allied Health in 2026

Nine practice management systems for physio, chiro, osteo, podiatry, psychology and other allied-health clinics, compared on claiming (NDIS, ACC, Medicare, UK insurers), data hosting and price in your currency, as of October 2026.

20 min readChimehill team
See it on your clinicEvery call deserves an answer.

Hear Chimehill answer as your clinic, booking into your own practice software.

Book A Demo Call14 days free · No lock-in contracts

Allied health practice management software runs most of a clinic's day: the diary, treatment notes, invoices, funder claims and reminder texts. Pick the wrong one and you pay for it in hours of manual claiming each week, double entry between systems, and a painful export of years of notes when you finally switch.

The right system depends less on the feature list than on where you practise and who pays your invoices. A Brisbane physio billing NDIS and Medicare needs different claiming from a Leeds osteo who works with private insurers. Pricing varies just as much: per practitioner, by practitioner band, or free core software with paid extras.

We compared nine systems that physio, chiro, osteo, podiatry, psychology, OT and speech clinics in Australia, New Zealand, the UK and the US use today. Prices, plans, trials, claiming and data hosting were checked on each vendor's own website in October 2026, and prices appear in the currency each vendor publishes.

Best allied health practice management software: a quick overview

We ordered the list by how well each system fits a typical independent allied-health clinic across our four markets: the depth of its booking, notes and billing, how many countries it serves with local claiming, and how clearly it publishes its prices.

  • Cliniko: best for clinics that want every feature included for one price per practitioner band.
  • Splose: best for Australian and New Zealand practices with lots of NDIS, ACC or other funded clients.
  • Nookal: best for clinics that need built-in claiming in Australia, New Zealand and the UK.
  • PracSuite: best for growing Australian clinics with several full-time and part-time practitioners.
  • Jane: best for clinics in the US, Canada or the UK that bill insurers and want telehealth built in.
  • Zanda: best for psychology and counselling-led practices that want month-to-month terms.
  • Coreplus: best for Australian practices that want data kept in Australia and direct Medicare claiming.
  • Halaxy: best for solo practitioners who want free core software and pay only for extras.
  • WriteUpp: best for UK solo and small practices that bill private insurers.
SoftwareBest forMarkets with local pricingStarting price (as of October 2026)
ClinikoEverything included, priced by practitioner bandUsed in many countries; prices shown in US dollarsUS$45 a month for 1 practitioner
SploseNDIS, ACC and funded clientsAustralia, New Zealand, UKA$30 per practitioner a month, excl. GST (A$36 from 1 November 2026)
NookalClaiming in AU, NZ and the UKAustralia, UK, Europe, USA$49 or £29 per practitioner a month
PracSuiteLarger Australian teamsAustraliaA$84 a month for the first practitioner, excl. GST
JaneInsurer billing in the US, Canada and UKUS, Canada, UKUS$59 or £29 a month for one practitioner
ZandaPsychology-led practices, no contractAustralia, New Zealand, UK, USA$29, £15 or US$19 a month for one practitioner
CoreplusAustralian hosting and MedicareAustraliaA$35 per user a month, excl. GST
HalaxyFree core softwareAustralia (other countries not priced on its page)Core platform free; pay per transaction and per credit
WriteUppUK private insurersUK, Europe, US£19.95 per user a month, excl. tax

1. Cliniko: best for clinics that want every feature in one price

Cliniko is cloud practice management software for clinics and allied-health practitioners, owned by its original Australian founders and used in more than 95 countries, according to its site. It covers appointments, treatment notes, invoices and payments, and it has a large library of connected apps for anything it doesn't do itself.

Practice Management Software with Cliniko

The pricing is the simplest in this list. You pay a flat monthly price set by how many practitioners you have, and every feature is included: admin and reception users, locations, patients and storage are all unlimited. Cliniko says its prices haven't changed since it started in June 2011. Patient data is stored in the account's region: Australia, the UK, Canada or the EU (Ireland).

Key features

  • Online booking 24/7, waitlists and group appointments
  • SMS and email reminders
  • Fully customisable treatment note templates, intake forms and letters
  • Invoices that third parties can pay, with item codes for claims
  • Video consultations

Pricing (as of October 2026, US dollars, tax basis not stated)

  • 1 practitioner: US$45 a month
  • 2 to 5 practitioners: US$95 a month
  • 6 to 8 practitioners: US$145 a month
  • 9 to 12 practitioners: US$195 a month
  • 13 to 25 practitioners: US$295 a month; 26 to 200: US$395 a month
  • SMS at 10 cents a message; 30-day free trial, no upfront costs, cancel any time

Pros

  • One predictable price with nothing to upgrade to
  • Data hosting in Australia, the UK, Canada or the EU depending on your account
  • No contract, and annual billing gives a month free

Cons

  • Medicare, health-fund, ACC and UK insurer claiming run through connected apps rather than Cliniko itself
  • Prices are shown only in US dollars on its pricing page as of October 2026

2. Splose: best for AU and NZ practices with funded clients

Splose is practice management software from Australia that also sells in New Zealand and the UK. It names physios, speech pathologists, OTs, osteopaths, podiatrists, exercise physiologists, psychologists and multidisciplinary teams, and it has a strong focus on disability and NDIS work.

Practice Management Software with Splose

Where Splose stands out is funded clients. It invoices NDIS, DVA, Medicare, private health insurance and WorkCover, has an NDIS bulk upload, submits Medicare claims through Tyro Health, and in New Zealand handles ACC forms, bulk invoices and reconciliation. Non-practitioner roles are free, which helps clinics with a large admin team. Australian data is stored in Australia.

Key features

  • Online bookings, with patients able to cancel or reschedule by secure link
  • SMS confirmations and 24-hour reminders, plus two-way SMS
  • Progress notes, online forms, waitlist and triage
  • Splose AI add-on for notes
  • NDIS, Medicare, DVA, WorkCover and (in NZ) ACC invoicing

Pricing (as of October 2026)

  • Australia and New Zealand: A$30 / NZ$30 per practitioner a month on the monthly plan, or A$27 / NZ$27 a month billed annually, excluding GST
  • From 1 November 2026: A$36 / NZ$36 monthly or A$32 / NZ$32 annually per practitioner, excluding GST (Splose's own announcement)
  • UK: £20 a month, or £18 billed annually, per practitioner
  • Splose AI: A$30 per user a month (A$27 annually); 14-day free trial

Pros

  • Deep NDIS and ACC workflows that are hard to find elsewhere
  • Admin and reception roles cost nothing
  • Prices published in local currency for each country

Cons

  • Telehealth runs through Zoom, Teams or Google Meet rather than a built-in video tool
  • No US pricing listed on its site as of October 2026, and the AU and NZ price rises on 1 November 2026

3. Nookal: best for built-in claiming in AU, NZ and the UK

Nookal is cloud practice management software for allied health, running since 2010. It names physios, psychologists, OTs, podiatrists, speech therapists, osteopaths, chiropractors and dietitians, and it supports classes and Pilates. It has regional sites for Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Ireland, the US, Canada and South Africa.

Practice Management Software with Nookal

Its claiming list covers more countries than most: HICAPS, Medicare, DVA and NDIS budget exports in Australia, ACC in New Zealand and Healthcode for UK insurers. Data is hosted in-region: Sydney for Australian accounts, Ireland for UK and EU accounts, and Ohio for US and Canadian accounts. Nookal states it is SOC 2 Type 2 verified.

Key features

  • Online booking on every plan; patient portal as a paid add-on
  • Appointment confirmations and reminders; two-way SMS on Professional
  • Clinical notes, with an AI scribe add-on
  • Payments through Stripe, Square, PayPal and Tyro Health
  • Recalls and bulk messaging on Professional

Pricing (as of October 2026, per practitioner a month; Australian prices exclude GST)

  • Essentials: A$49, £29, €65 or US$65
  • Professional: A$59, £39, €89 or US$89
  • Enterprise: contact Nookal
  • SMS from 7 cents; Medicare claims from 10 cents a claim; ACC claims 12 cents a claim (free on Professional)
  • 30-day free trial, no credit card, no lock-in

Pros

  • Built-in claiming for Australia, New Zealand and the UK in one product
  • Prices published in four currencies, with no lock-in contract
  • Data hosted in Australia, Ireland or the US depending on your account

Cons

  • No New Zealand dollar price shown on its pricing page as of October 2026
  • Video consultations run through partner tools, and the patient portal costs extra on every plan

4. PracSuite: best for growing Australian clinics

PracSuite is Australian practice management software from Smartsoft. It lists physios, podiatrists, chiros, osteos, psychologists, OTs, speech pathologists, dietitians, exercise physiologists and NDIS providers among its users, and it stores data in an Australian data centre.

Practice Management Software with PracSuite

PracSuite suits clinics with several practitioners. Each extra practitioner gets cheaper as the team grows, and part-time practitioners move to a lower rate automatically when they stay under PracSuite's weekly limits for two months. Its NDIS tools (service agreements, funding periods, NDIA bulk export) and claiming through Tyro Health for Medicare, DVA, private health and several workers' compensation schemes are thorough. PracSuite says it holds ISO 27001 certification, and two-factor sign-in is mandatory.

Key features

  • Online booking with deposits, classes and passes
  • Automatic confirmations, reminders, two-way SMS and campaigns
  • Notes with templates, body charts, handwriting and dictation; PracSuite AI add-on
  • Medicare, DVA, health fund and workers' compensation claiming through Tyro Health
  • NDIS service agreements and bulk export; waiting list; custom forms

Pricing (as of October 2026, Australian dollars, excluding GST)

  • First practitioner: A$84 a month
  • Each additional practitioner: A$46 full-time or A$36 part-time with 2 to 4 practitioners, falling to A$36 full-time or A$26 part-time with 80 or more
  • PracSuite AI: A$48 per practitioner a month (A$28 part-time), with a 30-day free trial
  • SMS from 10 cents; optional guided set-up and training A$395 including GST

Pros

  • Published volume pricing and an automatic part-time rate
  • Strong NDIS and third-party payer tools
  • Australian hosting and mandatory two-factor sign-in

Cons

  • Australia only: no UK or US pricing or claiming listed as of October 2026
  • No free trial of the core product listed on its site as of October 2026; it offers a demo instead

5. Jane: best for insurer billing in the US, Canada and the UK

Jane is an all-in-one practice management and charting system for health and wellness practitioners, strongest in Canada and also sold in the US and the UK. Its pages cover physio, chiro, massage, counselling and other allied-health work, and it says more than 250,000 practitioners use it.

Practice Management Software with Jane

Jane is broad: booking with automatic waitlist offers, a large charting template library, an AI scribe, built-in one-to-one telehealth, payments and, in Canada, payroll. Insurer billing is native in Canada, through Claim.MD in the US and through Healthcode files in the UK. Jane states where data is held for each region, including Sydney for Australian and New Zealand clinics.

Key features

  • Online booking, intake forms and automatic waitlist offers
  • SOAP, narrative or hybrid charting, with an AI scribe add-on
  • One-to-one telehealth on every plan
  • Free unlimited SMS reminders where available
  • Insurance billing add-on (US real-time eligibility checks; UK Healthcode)

Pricing (as of October 2026, tax basis not stated)

  • Balance (1 practitioner, up to 20 appointments a month): US$59 or £29 a month
  • Practice (1 full-time practitioner included): US$79 or £44 a month
  • Thrive: US$99 or £55 a month
  • Extra practitioners pay a monthly licence (full-time or part-time); admin staff are free
  • Insurance billing add-on from US$20 or £10 a month; no free trial (Jane offers a demo)

Pros

  • Wide feature set in one system, including telehealth on every plan
  • Native or built-in insurer billing in Canada, the US and the UK
  • Free SMS reminders where available

Cons

  • No free trial, as Jane says on its pricing page
  • No Australian or New Zealand dollar prices, and no Medicare, HICAPS, NDIS or ACC claiming listed as of October 2026

6. Zanda: best for psychology-led practices that want month-to-month terms

Zanda is all-in-one practice management software that was called Power Diary until it rebranded in 2024. It names psychology, counselling, social work, physio, OT, speech pathology, chiro, podiatry, osteo and dietetics among the professions it serves, with regional sites for Australia, New Zealand, the UK, the US, Canada and Europe.

Practice Management Software with Zanda

Zanda has no lock-in contracts and offers a 12-month money-back guarantee. In Australia it connects directly to Medicare at no charge, supports DVA, and produces NDIS bulk-upload files (it says this works without a direct NDIS integration). US practices can create CMS-1500 forms and superbills. Data is hosted in Sydney for Australian clinics, in the UK for UK clinics and in North America for US clinics.

Key features

  • Client portal with 24/7 online booking
  • Automatic reminders and two-way SMS; emails are free
  • Progress notes, custom templates and an AI scribe (4 appointments a month included)
  • Medicare claiming, DVA support and NDIS bulk upload in Australia
  • Telehealth, advanced waitlist and paperless intake forms

Pricing (as of October 2026)

  • Australia (excl. GST): Starter A$29 a month for one practitioner; Growth A$59 base plus A$29 per additional practitioner
  • New Zealand: same numbers in NZ dollars
  • UK: Starter £15; Growth £25 base plus £15 per additional practitioner
  • US: Starter US$19; Growth US$49 base plus US$19 per additional practitioner
  • 14-day free trial, free data migration; October sign-ups get 6 months at 50% off

Pros

  • Local prices in four currencies and data hosted in your region
  • No contract and a 12-month money-back guarantee
  • Free Medicare claiming in Australia and free admin users

Cons

  • Starter caps at 1,000 appointments and one user
  • HICAPS and New Zealand ACC claiming not listed on its site as of October 2026

7. Coreplus: best for Australian hosting and direct Medicare claiming

Coreplus is cloud practice management software for allied health in Australia, founded in 2009. Its profession list leans towards mental health (psychologists, social workers, counsellors) and also covers physios, chiros, osteos, speech pathologists, exercise physiologists and dietitians.

Practice Management Software with Coreplus

Its pitch is local: all data is processed, stored and backed up in Australia, across AWS regions in Sydney and Melbourne. The Plus plan includes free direct Medicare and DVA claiming, and Coreplus supports secure messaging and e-referrals using health messaging standards (HL7, FHIR and CDA). Health-fund claiming runs through Tyro Health on every plan.

Key features

  • Online bookings 24/7, with intake forms at booking and HealthEngine and HotDoc integrations
  • Automated SMS and email reminders and two-way SMS
  • Case notes with templates and body charts; finalised notes are locked
  • Medicare and DVA claiming on Plus; NDIS plan tracking and invoices
  • Built-in telehealth

Pricing (as of October 2026, Australian dollars, excluding GST)

  • Core: A$35 per user a month; SMS 15 cents
  • Plus: A$49 per user a month; SMS 10 cents; free Medicare and DVA claiming
  • Group (8 or more users): price on application
  • Free admin users, free data migration, untimed free trial, no contracts

Pros

  • All data kept in Australia
  • Free direct Medicare and DVA claiming on Plus
  • An untimed free trial with no credit card

Cons

  • Australia only: no New Zealand, UK or US pricing listed as of October 2026
  • No waitlist feature listed on its site as of October 2026

8. Halaxy: best for solo practitioners who want free core software

Halaxy is a Melbourne-based health platform with practice software for more than 90 professions, from GPs to physios, chiros, osteos, podiatrists, OTs, psychologists and dietitians. Its core platform is free to use, with no sign-up costs and no credit card.

Practice Management Software with Halaxy

Halaxy makes its money from payment processing and from credits that you spend on extras such as SMS, rebate claims, telehealth, e-scripts and its AI scribe. Its Australian claiming list is wide: Medicare and DVA, NDIS, HICAPS, WorkCover, TAC, Comcare and ECLIPSE. Telehealth is built in, and data is stored in Australia, or in the EU for EU users, on AWS.

Key features

  • Online booking through your website or a Halaxy directory profile, with deposits and a waitlist
  • Free email reminders; SMS reminders paid in credits
  • More than 700 clinical tools and templates; AI scribe in credits
  • Built-in payments and wide Australian rebate claiming
  • Built-in video and phone telehealth

Pricing (as of October 2026, Australian site)

  • Core platform: free
  • Payments: from 1.5% per transaction, up to 1.9% plus 75 cents to A$1 on lower volume bands
  • Credits: A$0.15 to A$0.22 per credit including GST, for SMS, claims, telehealth and add-ons
  • Subscription features (calendar sync, branding, practice phone number) from 25 credits a month

Pros

  • No monthly fee for the core software
  • Widest Australian funding-body list in this roundup
  • Telehealth built in and linked to notes and billing

Cons

  • Your real monthly cost depends on how many credits you use, and the credit cost per feature isn't on its pricing page
  • Only Australian pricing shown, and no ACC, UK insurer or US insurance claiming listed as of October 2026

9. WriteUpp: best for UK practices that bill private insurers

WriteUpp is UK practice management software from Pathway Software, which says it has supplied NHS therapy teams for over ten years. It serves speech and language therapists, physios, psychotherapists, counsellors, podiatrists, OTs, osteos, chiros and dietitians, with versions for the US and Canada as well.

Practice Management Software with WriteUpp

For UK private practice, the draw is Healthcode: WriteUpp integrates with it so you can bill the major UK insurers, and it offers a Stripe card terminal for UK clinics. It also has waiting lists, smart forms for intake and consent, built-in video consultations and a mobile app. Data is stored in EU data centres and copied to a second EU location.

Key features

  • Branded online booking; online booking is an add-on on Flex
  • Automated SMS and email reminders
  • Smart forms and document templates; AI scribe option
  • Healthcode integration for UK insurers; Stripe and Square payments
  • Waiting lists and video consultations

Pricing (as of October 2026, excluding tax where applicable)

  • Flex: from £19.95 per user a month (pay as you go)
  • Solo: from £27.95 a month for one clinician and one non-clinical user
  • Group (2 or more clinicians): from £45.95 a month, plus £15 per extra user (3 to 10 users)
  • AI scribe add-on £23.95 per user a month; also priced in euros and US dollars
  • 30-day free trial with no card; 50% off plans until January 2027

Pros

  • Healthcode billing for UK insurers built in
  • Low entry price and a 30-day trial without a card
  • Waiting lists, smart forms and video consultations included

Cons

  • Data is hosted in the EU, and UK-only hosting isn't listed as of October 2026
  • No Australian or New Zealand pricing, Medicare or ACC claiming listed as of October 2026

How to choose allied health practice management software

Most clinics can narrow nine options to two or three in an afternoon. Start with the questions below, then trial your shortlist with real appointments from last week.

Who pays your invoices?

This decides more than anything else. If a large share of your income comes from NDIS, ACC, Medicare, DVA, workers' compensation or private insurers, the claiming workflow will save or cost you hours every week.

  • If you're in Australia with lots of NDIS or Medicare work, look at Splose, PracSuite, Coreplus, Zanda or Halaxy.
  • If you're in New Zealand and bill ACC, Splose and Nookal list it built in.
  • If you're in the UK and bill private insurers, Nookal, Jane, WriteUpp and Splose list Healthcode.
  • If you're in the US and bill insurance, Jane and Zanda list it; check what your payers need.

Which country are you in, and where is your data stored?

Check that the vendor prices in your currency and hosts data in a region you're comfortable with. Cliniko, Nookal, Jane and Zanda publish hosting by region; Coreplus and PracSuite keep everything in Australia; WriteUpp hosts in the EU. Your privacy notice should name where patient data goes, so ask in writing if a page doesn't say.

How is it priced?

There are four shapes: a flat price by practitioner band (Cliniko), per practitioner (Splose, Nookal, Coreplus, WriteUpp), a base plus per practitioner (PracSuite, Zanda, Jane) and free core software with usage charges (Halaxy). Add SMS, AI notes, telehealth and claiming fees before comparing, and price your clinic as it will look in two years, not just today.

What happens to the calls?

Practice software runs the diary, but it doesn't answer the phone. Online booking helps patients who'd rather not call, yet many still ring, and the calls that go unanswered mid-treatment are bookings your diary never sees. If missed calls are part of your shortlist conversation, our guide to what an AI receptionist does for a clinic explains the options, and you can hear an AI receptionist answer as your clinic on a short demo call.

How easy is it to switch later?

Ask every vendor how you export patient records, notes and invoices if you leave, and whether they import from your current system for free. Cliniko, Zanda, Coreplus and Jane all list free data migration or import. A trial with your own appointment types will show you more than any feature table.

Questions clinics ask

What is allied health practice management software?

It's the system a clinic runs on: the appointment diary, patient records and treatment notes, invoicing and payments, claiming, and reminder messages. Most allied-health systems are now cloud-based and priced per practitioner each month. Start by listing the funders you bill, because claiming support varies most between products.

What is the cheapest practice management software for allied health?

Halaxy's core platform is free, with charges for payments and credits for extras such as SMS and claims. Among paid plans, Zanda's Starter (A$29, £15 or US$19 a month) and WriteUpp's Flex (from £19.95 per user) were the lowest published entry prices in October 2026. Compare the total with SMS and claiming added, not just the headline price.

Which practice management software works in Australia, New Zealand, the UK and the US?

Of the nine here, Nookal and Zanda publish prices for Australia, the UK and the US, and Zanda also has New Zealand pricing. Cliniko is used in many countries and stores data in Australia, the UK, Canada or the EU, but shows prices in US dollars. Check that the claiming you need is supported in your country, not just that the software is sold there.

Does practice management software answer phone calls?

No. It handles online booking, reminders and the diary, but calls still go to your front desk. Some clinics add an AI receptionist or an answering service that books into their practice software. Our page on clinic answering services compares those options.

Which software handles NDIS and ACC claiming?

For NDIS, Splose, PracSuite, Coreplus, Zanda, Nookal and Halaxy all list NDIS invoicing or bulk-upload tools; some create a file to upload rather than connecting directly. For ACC in New Zealand, Splose and Nookal list it built in, and PracSuite lists an ACC export. Ask for a demo using one of your real claims.

How long does it take to switch practice management software?

It depends on how much history you're moving and whether the new vendor imports it for you. Several vendors here offer free data migration, and most offer a free trial of 14 to 30 days, so you can test with your own appointment types before you move. Plan the switch for a quieter week and keep read-only access to the old system for a while.

Written byChimehill teamNew guides for clinic owners, once a month.
Get new guides
Practice software and more

Keep reading

More practical guides for clinic owners and practice managers.

1–3 of 4All articles
Practice software

Cliniko Pricing UK, SMS Costs and Real Monthly Totals

What Cliniko really costs a UK clinic: the six pound price bands checked from the UK in October 2026, cost per practitioner at every team size, what SMS reminders add, annual billing, trial rules and the costs no plan covers.

Chimehill team11 min read
Practice software

7 Best AI Receptionists for Clinics in 2026

Seven AI receptionists and answering services compared for allied-health clinics: what each one books into, where it works, prices checked on each vendor's own site in October 2026, real pros and cons, and how to choose and pilot one safely.

Chimehill team18 min read
Front desk

7 Best Telephone Answering Services for UK Clinics in 2026

Seven telephone answering services for UK clinics, people and AI, compared on diary booking, hours, contracts and prices in pounds, all checked on each provider's own site in October 2026. Who each one suits, and what to check before you sign.

Chimehill team23 min read
After-hours calls

7 Best Medical Answering Services for Clinics in 2026

Seven medical answering services compared for clinics in the US, UK, Australia and New Zealand: human and AI options, which ones book into your practice software, what they say about HIPAA and patient privacy, and prices checked on each vendor's own site in October 2026.

Chimehill team22 min read

Every call deserves an answer.

Hear Chimehill answer as your clinic, booking into your own practice software.

14 days free · No lock-in contracts